black in a multi-culti world, cultural absurdity, el's rabbit trails, family life

Friday Frivolities 9

Random points, in no particular order, on the fly:

Consumer PSA: After spending a small fortune -two short years ago!- on what we thought was a very nice stainles steel refrigerator from the company which declares that life is good, the thing started warming a week ago. A technician came out, and declared that we have to wait another week for the part because “life is good’s” refrigerator compressors are going out in kitchens all over town. Apparently, it’s a thing. How, I ask, did we miss this, given our propensity to do research before we buy? It occurs to me that we’ve bought two in 15 years whereas both my husband and I spent two decades in our parents’ house and never saw either of our dads have to buy a new fridge.

The cognitive dissonance of feminism: Thinking about the Google guy and the fallout from his so-called manifesto. I am still occasionally struck by how stupid feminism is. That it is inherently misogynistic. Rather than accepting women’s differences from men as just that, and worth celebrating, they themselves view femininity as weakness. They then project their own neuroticism and insecurity with their femininity onto those who dare say out loud that women are indeed different from men. It would be funny if it wasn’t so sad, and wasn’t ruining countless numbers of lives and psyches.

Post commencement thoughts: We graduated our twins from college recently. I know there are readers who have all kinds of *issues* with that, but whatever. I trust my man’s judgment implicitly on this one. More than that, I agree. I was taking some mental notes at both commencement exercises.

At the first ceremony there were roughly 1200 graduates. Around 40 of the roughly 170 black graduates were black men (yes, I was counting). I’m fairly certain at least three of those were gay.

At the second commencement there were roughly 1500 graduates. I wasn’t quite as attentive to the numbers, but I would estimate nearly 250 black graduates, with approximately 100 black men and that was because the second group of colleges were heavy with areas of study that more male oriented fiels of study. They also handed out roughly 30 doctorates in computer science and engineering. With the exception of two candidates, EVERY announced candidate was of Asian or Middle Eastern descent. Make of that what you will…

We’ll start our new school year on Monday:  I think we’re all ready for it. The kids are very excited about their new classes in te Classical program we enrolled them in. Depite the sticker shock, it doesn’t really equate to less work for me. Just more help, and it’s help I’m glad to get. This despite the fact that I have to get ready to read -along with our 11-yer-old- a lot of book not previously in my reading queue. Among them (not an exhaustive list):

  • Captains Courageous, which she has already been assigned to begin reading before classes start next week.
  • The Samurai’s Tale
  • The Hiding Place, by Corrie ten Boom
  • The Three Musketeers

Pretty sure there are very few middle schoolers (whether privately or public schooled) being challenged to read great literature. Like I said, we’re excited. There are lots of fun, challenging, and enriching things on tap for the school year. Now, to get us out of this summer fluidity and restore some structure…

Have any of you started your new school years yet? I suspect the northerners who read here can’t even begin to imagine school starting weeks before Labor Day.

Have a good weekend!

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Friday Frivolities 9”

  1. Oh, for the record: Our daughters lived at home their entire college careers (and still do), went to church every Sunday, spent plenty of time at home with us (they weren’t out partying on weekends either although they aren’t hermits) and didn’t accrue debt.

    In other words, all of the *stuff* that enters into the minds of most when they think of someone “going to college”? Almost none of it applies in their case. There is such a thing as a normal life that doesn’t include extremes on either side and doesn’t include drinking or illicit sex.

    You know what they say happens when you assume…

    Like

  2. Reliability engineering is tough; whenever you do your job right, management doesn’t see problems, and they (naturally) assume that they can run a lot closer to the edge. Consumer Reports had no idea LG had gone this close to the edge when they wrote your review. I worked for a company that went under because they cheated on reliability testing in two big areas–customer #1 was NOT amused.

    Plus, Energy Star requirements are at fault. High efficiency fridges require a lot of insulation to reduce energy use and higher compression compressors. This results in the compressor/pump working less…..but the lubricant for your compressor is the coolant. Higher friction + higher pressure = lower reliability unless you really pull out the stops on metallurgy. Low water use dishwashers and clothes washers suffer from the same basic problem, really.

    Like

  3. My HE washer takes almost twice as long to wash a load as the old washer, since you mentioned those.

    I don’t even use it. Actually took the older one and hooked that sucker back up so I can get 3 loads completely done in less than 2 hours.

    I didn’t realize energy efficiency standards were the partial culprits with the fridge. Interesting to know.

    Luckily we have a second albeit much smaller fridge to use while we wait for the repair. Probably gonna get a deep freezer this weekend.

    Like

  4. That makes sense, Bike. I recently switched from a low-water use washer, err… series of washers…. to a laundromat quality top loader, with a hose out the back to water the grass.

    I feel just as green, and I’m told that it’s not likely to break for 15 years or so. Which would be nice, since apparently dishwashers and clothes washers have a 5 year lifespan now. -headdesk- I know I’ve gone through my share, and SURELY all those materials don’t equate the waste of the extra water/soap usage. (It was also less expensive than a new front loader.)

    ..
    How have you not read the Hiding Place? You’re in for a treat, you are. Heartbreaking, hopeful, amazing…

    Like

  5. How have you not read the Hiding Place? You’re in for a treat, you are. Heartbreaking, hopeful, amazing…

    You’d probably be surprised at what I haven’t read, LOL.

    But I am looking forward The Hiding Place. Started the Kipling novel today so I can discuss it with our kid as she goes through it in Lit. class. I am enjoying it so far.

    Like

  6. When I calculate–estimate–back of the envelope–the energy balance for replacing the new units vs. keeping the old, the new units actually do save some energy. But given the choice, I’d much rather have my dishes washed in less than five hours and pay for the energy and water that takes. I live in the “Land of 10000 Lakes”, which of course borders Lake Superior and contains the headwaters of the Big Muddy. I think we can afford a few extra gallons per cycle up my way.

    (and if we can’t, take it out of the billions of gallons the corn licker plants use, ahem, just like Hearthie can note that if they didn’t have so many rice paddies in California, she might have fewer water restrictions, too)

    Praying that there are a few good men to take interest in your not so little anymore girls, gracious hostess. And that our society will remember what vive la difference means and appreciate it.

    Like

  7. Regarding starting school north of the Mason-Dixon, it actually turns out that starting after Labor Day is, in my experience, something we see mostly north of Milwaukee–MN, Dakotas, and the like. I was always in school in mid-August, and that was not always pleasant in the days before schools had A/C–95-100 was not uncommon before Labor Day. Not Florida heat, but not pleasant either.

    And we go year-round, really. No sense forgetting everything you learned in three months and then spending the first 2 months of each year trying to remember it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

