el's rabbit trails, healthy living, Homemaking stuff, real living in a virtual world

Friday frivolities 2: Natural living

We live in the suburbs and drive a lot, but we really enjoy nature and time outside and have to take it as we can get it.

Fortunately, some of my in-laws live in the country on a sprawling bit of land with lots of natural beauty all around. We get up there a couple of times a year, and even stay in a beautiful log cabin my uncle-in-law and his wife built with their own hands. They belie their years, not only in appearance, but energy.

Recently we took a jaunt up for a few days and walking along dirt roads with no signs and forests as far as the eye can see is a wonderful respite, both mentally and physically:

wp-1495819758708.jpg

wp-1495819793045.jpgwp-1495819774064.jpg

Here at home in my own back yard, spring has sprung. With it, we started our gardening and so far, so good:

wp-1495819742649.jpg
Purple peppers
wp-1495819720576.jpg
Mint
wp-1495819733251.jpg
Tomatoes

 

The recent drought down here, coupled with water usage restrictions, cause me a little concern but things are growing nicely. It seems the afternoon rains of the wet season are about to return as well, which brings the challenges of pests which to date haven’t been much of an issue. But they will.

Y’all get outside this weekend and have some fun. I certainly plan to, after I finish torturing myself at Saturday morning boot camp.

Have a blessed weekend!

12 thoughts on “Friday frivolities 2: Natural living”

  1. Thanks, GTTF. I Noticed over the weekend that the eggplants are starting to come in. Might put a pic in here later.

    Edited to add: Just pulled some weeds and took some pics so here is the eggplant:

    Green pepper:

    Sprawling watermelon vine (so excited about this one!):

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s been averaging 53F and raining bunches up here. Cold, late springs almost always mean short, cool, wet summers. I’m hopeful for my melons because I grow heirloom French varieties bred to withstand my climate. And lots of winter squash and beans, cole crops, and tomatoes. I don’t bother with corn. Spit two feet in any direction and you can pick the corn right out of any farmers field for pennies.

    Eggplants are in the ground but it’s so cold they aren’t coming along. Last year I had a beautiful crop, three different varieties, all eaten by some sun-uv-a….. groundhog. I might move them to the front yard, where if they don’t bear fruit at least they will be nice background. Did you know eggplants were brought to England from India during the colonial period, to be ornamentals in English gardens? Gorgeous flowers and fruit; they weren’t regularly eaten until much later. Plant lore for the day.

    Oh, and I’ve got potatoes and sweet potatoes in containers, going buck wild with all this rain! I can’t wait, one year I harvested 75# of taters, I think I could double that this year.

    Like

  3. It’s interesting how wildly the weather varies in different parts of the country. You’ve had rain and brisk temperatures, while we’ve had heat, drought, and wildfires. The meteorologists are forecasting the start of the raining season as June begins for us, which would be right on schedule.

    I went out this weekend and got my neem oil and Castile soap to prepare for the uptick in garden critters that invariably comes with the wet weather:

    http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com/2014/09/neem-oil-garden-spray-uses-neem.html

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rain will mean slugs and snails here. They stick to my doors, windows, everything! I’ve got a plot of bok choi to and lots of lettuce to pick before they get really bad. A saucer if cornmeal works wonders.

    I love neem oil for the garden, and even though it tastes terrible, it’s excellent for brushing teeth as well.

    Best of luck with your garden, it really looks fabulous!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Slugs….*shudder*. For us, it’s the little green tree frogs which look cute when it’s just one, but there will be several stuck to the front door after the rains. Not as cute.

    And thank you, because I need the luck. I am not a good gardener, but I keep at it.

    Like

  6. I love tree frogs and we don’t get them here. Just bullfrogs and those horrible little green lizards.

    I only planted tomatoes and herbs. I guess I will be walking to the farmers market more than usual this summer.

    Like

  7. I don’t have confidence that I am going to harvest enough to avoid the farmer’s market myself. I am very much a student gardener. Even after nearly a decade.

    Like

Leave a Reply

