Friday frivolities: things I like, 1.

This is just what it implies; not deep. However, in the interest of supporting the notion that it’s perfectly fine and normal for women to enjoy being women and all the stuff that goes with, I want to start sharing some things which are not necessities of life, but make being a girl kind of fun.

I *get* the whole frugal thing. I live on a budget, too, and not everything I mention will be costly. In fact, some of it will be cheap or even free. Just not today. Today my frivolities are beauty products that no woman needs but that I enjoy and also don’t cost an exorbitant amount of money

  • Cocoshea Honey Sugar Scrub, Body Wash, and Body Lotion. I have no doubt that there are cheaper or even free alternatives to baby soft skin but currently, I am using these.
  • Easy Breezy Brow Shape + Define Brow Mascara. I have never been good at taming my own brows, and have had hit or miss luck having them shaped professionally. I like shaped brows, but not thin ones (my brows are already on the light side), and I’d rather leave them alone than have them done wrong. My daughter discovered this stuff a couple of weeks ago, and it does just the trick. I like it a lot.
  • ApHogee Curlific Moisture-Rich Leave-In. This specific product is, as it implies, for thick, curly hair, but ApHogee is a an excellent line for repairing and infusing protein and strength into all hair types. My hair likes moisture so this is a great way for me to do that on an every other day basis between shampoos.

Those are a few of my unnecessary necessary beauty products. Feel free to share any of your own, including natural ideas!

Have a great weekend.

 

10 thoughts on “Friday frivolities: things I like, 1.

  1. Thank you for sharing these. I didn’t know about the brow mascara and my girls are always complaining about their brows. (and every other last feature of their selves as only teens can do) Maybe this will be the solution for them. Won’t hurt to try.

    Like

  2. I found the brow mascara a good solution for me.

    If I lived in an area where the abundance of salons who wax didn’t have a heavy accent or don’t quite get the difference between “shape” and “thin” we might never have found it, LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes. It is sort of a thing I don’t really *forget* since the man is not shy about his preferences for the girly stuff.

    Another way he breaks from the pack since he doesn’t try to shy away from the fact that he likes it when I am made up, hair done, shoulders showing, etc. And is willing to put his $ where his mouth is on it.

    Kind of like your guy, now that I think about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes. But the prevailing culture … 13yo was quite put out yday because one of the girls at school called her “girly”. Like, wha? Miss I want a unicorn cake isn’t at all girly? But it’s a bit of a put-down. Only “I’m afraid my nails will break” girls are girly these days. Bah.

    Like

  5. I try to go au natural as much as possible. Coconut oil to deep condition my hair, baking soda and vinegar no-poo to cleanse it, my own blend of oils to moisturize.

    But I haven’t found anything that makes my face look and feel so good, without makeup, as Olay Regenerist moisturizer. It is expensive but so, so good, and full of evil chemicals and made by that awful Proctor & Gamble corp too! Send me to hippie reeducation camp immediately.

    I don’t like doing my brows. They’re very light in color though not thin, and when I use any sort of wax, filler, plumper, or shaper, I feel like a clown. I look like a clown. I detest and fear clowns.

    Brows seem to be the obsession trend these past few years. Stencils, brow tattoos, brow tinting and dyeing at salons, they’re eyebrows and women spend a fortune tending them. I must be old.

    For makeup, Bare Minerals. Also expensive, but I only wear face makeup a few times a month or for special occasions, so it lasts a very long time. Clinique mascara, and some type of lip gloss or stick does it for my makeup most days.

    Like

  6. I’m a Bare Minerals wearer as well. Love it. It’s worth the expense to me. My SIL uses Olay Regenerist also. She likes it and says is worth the money.

    I need a good moisturizer, something I never needed before as my skin tends to oily. But my cheeks have a dry spot. I’m trying to address it with nutrition and increased water intake first. We’ll see.

    I also hate the drag queen brow look that is so popular now. I like mine shaped, not thick, but also not too thin either.

    Like

  7. Huh. Seems I need a moisturizer even though my skin is oily more often than not. At least according to WebMd:

    For people with oily skin, breakouts may never stop as they age. But oily skin does have a plus: It wards off wrinkles better than dry skin because the oils keep skin moister and smoother.

    Using moisturizer is one way to lessen the impact of wrinkles before they appear. If you have oily skin, you can keep your skin clear and less wrinkled with hypoallergenic moisturizers.

    I’ll need to do some research to see what is the best choice for brown, oily skin though. I do NOT need to shine anymore than I already do, lol.

    Like

  8. I’ve done crunchy, and have a serious fondness for emu oil (I got turned on to it when BFF was doing radiation – and yes, it helped her), but at the moment I’m using a serum (thanks Els), some eye-cream from the health-food store, and Clinique moisturizer.

    What seems to help my skin most is a really good exfoliating routine, which I need to get back to. :p

    Does anyone do dry skin brushing? I don’t know if my skin likes it or not, but the rest of my bod really appreciates the circulation. (Things I need to do more often).

    I did no-poo for a while. It was okay, but a huge pain in the butt to drag baking soda and vinegar into the shower, so I went back to regular shampoo – honestly for the tactile enjoyment of shampooing my hair. I was using a hair-mask from Lush for a while, but the one I like the smell of has henna in it, and I’m thinking of getting baylage done on my hair, so henna is off the list. I got a hair-mask from Target that is fine, but I prefer the Lush version. Maybe I should look up some recipes online for making your own. /shrug.

    I should check that brow thing out. I know I need to get mine waxed. :p Nothing crazy, just a professional-level tidy up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

