healthy living

Approach health holistically.

I was looking up a salad dressing recipe that I’d remembered by name only. It’s dump ranch dressing for those interested. Clicking on the first link that came up brought me the above linked website which promotes something called the Whole Life Challenge. It got my attention so I read a bit to get a sense of what it was since I’d never heard of it.

It wasn’t something I was going to commit or subscribe to for myself since, I thought, I try to do all the things it entails in my daily life. The more I read it though, the more I realized how much of the common sense things it addressed were things I actually don’t do because my entire focus when I think of health measures revolves around maintaining a decent weight.

I don’t get enough sleep. I don’t drink enough water and usually pay for it when I go to run. I never stretch, and low level stress is my constant companion. In short, my health habits aren’t health habits as much as they are weight control habits to the exclusion of all else. Getting up at 5:30 to run when you just got to bed at midnight is hardly a healthy choice, especially when you know you’ll be ready to pass out by 3 PM, but I do exactly that at least once a week.

I shared the information with my daughters with this advice:

Do not abuse the bloom of youth, and measure your health by more than JUST your jeans size.

Watch the jeans size of course, but not to the exclusion of all else.

Leave a Reply

