Civically Challenged

Yeah, I made up that word, but why not? We’ve resorted to making up election law as we go based on being sore losers. A lot of the other side are acting like sore winners, by the way.Why is everybody so sore? But I’m getting way off topic.

When you have the Attorney General of the United States saying wildly ridiculous things such “abolish the Electoral College” followed up by the notion that requesting valid photo identification at the polls is tantamount to disenfranchisement, you know your country is in trouble.

I’m not a Constitutional scholar by any stretch of the imagination, but isn’t this basic, 8th grade civics? Namely, that we are not a pure democracy, which I would say is tantamount to mob rule, but are instead a Constitutional republic.

In other words, the 51% of the electorate who populate the cities do not get to run the country over the will of the 49% of the populace who live in flyover country and/or are not flaming liberals. City life is part and parcel with liberalism by the way. That’s just an aside.

Why does this Electoral College deal always seems to swat down Democratic candidates? I just told you in the preceding paragraph: because the higher population areas are the ones most filled with the libertines, minorities*, and immigrants who have been convinced that their best interest lies with the party who promises to give them the most stuff.

I believe it was Ben Franklin who made the statement about the republic lasting only so long as the people don’t realize they can vote themselves the things they want from the public treasury. I would add to that the realization that they can force the will, habits and choices  associated with urban lifestyles onto the population at large.

The only thing holding the tide back a little longer than it wold be otherwise is the Electoral College, because it ensures that people who live in less populated, more rural, more conservative states get a voice. And that was the whole point: To give as many eligible citizens as possible a voice. Without the Electoral College, those voices are forever and permanently silenced.  You’d think Constitutional scholars would get that.

The scary part is maybe they do.

*I have no idea how they convinced Asians to vote against their won interests. Well I kind of do, but it’s rude so…

17 thoughts on “Civically Challenged

  1. They do. This election was an education in exactly how much contempt the elite have for the salt-of-the-earth types.

    That’s always been true, in every culture… at least to some extent. But to be called not merely ignorant, but deplorable? That’s new. I know I’ve said it until I’m boring, but that’s new and *bad*. Because it’s not new. If you open a history book and see what happens when we start calling names and excluding (that’d be what this electoral college business is about) and disenfranchising segments of the population, your skin would be as pale as mine.

    Well, you read. So obviously not *you*. 😛

    Do the rest of the salt-of-the-earth types (not all of whom voted Trump, because I’d count you and I in that group, at least by proxy) fail to read history? I don’t think so. In fact, history is rather a hobby of any number of salty sorts of my acquaintance.

    The question is, do they hear what’s really being said, and understand the consequences? And what do they – do we – do about it, if so?

    Like

  2. I don’t think that we need to get rid of the electoral college (and it will never happen) but I do understand the frustration of people who won the popular vote and lost the election. I don’t understand why people would celebrate winning by yelling racial slurs at random people of color, but it appears that common decency is now passé.

    I would’ve said that the calling the voter ID laws an attempt at voter suppression was ridiculous until recently. My license was expiring and I spent 4 hours at the DMV only to be told that my married name, which is on my passport and and my old ID could not be used on my new ID and that I would have to come back with my marriage license. I’ve been married and using my married name for over a decade. I’m sure that plenty of voters would go home rather than come back with more paperwork and wait again. Especially poorer, paid by the hour voters.

    I also registered to vote at the DMV (as an independent) but my name was mysteriously missing from the rolls when I went to vote early. My husband’s name was also missing despite the fact that he registered at a different time and place.

    NC was in the news recently for having completely ridiculous voter laws and redistricting plans struck down and they did not bother to hide the fact the laws were being changed to suppress minority voters. Actual in person voter fraud is pretty much nonexistent anyway. I do not believe that it is the liberals who are attempting to silence people. The electoral college thing is pie in the sky, while the GOP is actually making it harder for poor minorities to vote. While I understand that the GOP doesn’t like how they vote it is still shameful to attempt to keep them from doing so. They should try changing people’s minds instead.

    Like

  3. Had a long reply all typed out to Nonya and it vanished. Gotta shorten it now:

    1- yes. Common decency seems to have died a painful death. It is a sad thing.

    2- From what I cna surmise and have heard, voter intimidation and/or suppression has taken place on both sides. While it is true that requirements and standards certainly make it harder on lower income voters, that is not a reason to have looser standards. There needs to be a workable solution found that serves both enfranchisement and integrity of the process.

    3- Yes, to changing minds. As far as I am aware of, Trump was the first GOP candidate in recent memory to have a section of his website directly addressing the black American community. And frankly he’s right (particularly to black urban voters): What DID they have to lose?

    My husband has changed a lot of minds over the years such that even if said friends/relatives didn’t suddenly vote GOP, they at least refuse to vote Democratic.

    I think that’s the first step if any steps can help redeem the system: Get voting blocks to stop blindly voting for a certain party out of faith and tradition and make them show what they are truly offering besides victimology and platitudes.

    Like

  4. I’m just going to say, I refuse to use the term “the elite”. They are not worthy of the title. I think “oligarchs” is more accurate. They may like all the imprecise language that causes people not to be able to think, but I’ll keep up my one woman crusade against it, lol.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Didn’t Obama win in the same way? The US wan’t set up as a democracy in the first place – it’s not about a popularity contest. Democracy = mob rule. I’ve seen the mob, and I don’t want it ruling me. (As a concomitant to “I’ve seen the village, and I don’t want it raising my children.”)

    Like

  6. Yeah, see this is the beginning of an attempt to crackdown on the access to information and offensive views which they believe cost them the election.

    Can’t have people reading any and every unsanctioned thing out there!

    Like

  7. We all know that the Ministry of Truth runs CNN, ABC, et al, and this is where we get the narrative we can all agree on. Approved narrative only, you filthy dissidents!

    I listened to a pre-election Trump speech last night and this idea that he’s just some yahoo is totally dishonest. He’s a very good speaker – not a single hesitation in 6 minutes – and everything he said was true and well stated. I only hope it’s not just part of the show we’ve been fed for so long now, but I’m of a wait and see mentality here.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I liked your reply, because oligarchs is a better term, but other than our current batch, and outside our own culture, the attitude of the intellectual to the working man has been much the same. Think of ancient China. Heck, think modern China. The difference is, in modernity, that we have a large class of oligarch-wannabes who *think* that they are part of the oligarchy or have the potential to be part of the oligarchy – and those folks support the prejudices of the oligarchy.

    Our food and crafts have been so separated from the people who grow the food and make the things that people don’t connect them – and at any rate, our society has become a disposable society, not caring about the source of the raw materials of life anyway. I continually wonder how long people really think that can last – it’s held up by a lot of weak supports, 3/4 of which have dry rot.

    I think I’m going to put up a post about how to get decent news. I have a method, which isn’t perfect, but it’s better than what officialdom has come up with. Of course it takes work.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. @ Nadine- I would be more in favor of voter ID laws if in person voter fraud was actually happening. There would have to be hundreds to thousands of people conspiring to vote multiple times under different names for it to actually influence the election outcomes. That isn’t happening.

    Middle class black America clutched their collective pearls over that “what have you got to lose” remark. LOL. As if we are all living in an episode of The Wire and worried about being shot. What we’ve lost thus far is racists feeling that they had to at least be civil instead of yelling our racial slurs at random black people. I doubt that we will gain anything from a Trump presidency to make up for that, but here’s hoping.

    I am also disturbed by Trump’s endorsement of stop and frisk. The right not to be stopped and searched without cause is not something that people should be so quick to give up.

    About Milo’s twitter ban. I don’t care. Those companies exist to make money, not to provide a platform for kooks to harass random people. Reading what happened after the fact, I’m not sure why he thought that he wouldn’t be banned.

    Like

  10. There are parts of your comment I agree with and parts I don’t, Nonya. No time for further exploration at the moment.

    For now, despite the fact that I know anyone with a modicum of observation skills can connect the dots, I still prefer to be referred to by the moniker I use on this site.

    Thanks.

    Like

  11. Gotta minute, but just barely so I’ll make this short:

    1- I was not referring to Milo. I was referring to a broader ban that was in the headlines today including alt right personalities in general. I don’t like much of what the alt. right stands for, but…

    2. I know plenty of blacks who did not clutch their collective pearls, and a few who wouldn’t vote for Trump if he were the only one on the ballot, but their take was, “He has a point, especially if you compare it to what blacks have gotten under Obama or any other Dem in recent memory.”

    We are not, despite the caterwauling of some right wing Internet nut jobs, as much of a monolith as it has been reported. In our circle, many of the more conservative leaning blacks who disagree with the Democratic party just sit out the elections in general. Some due to apathy, others due to the belief that Jesus was apolitical, so they are in good company. Some because they see it as enabling a corrupt system.

    3- Wasn’t even aware of Trump’s view on the stop and frisk policy. Instinctively I oppose it as the wife of, sister of, aunt to, and niece of wonderful black men. At the same time (and I’m just being honest here), my resolve waivers considerably when the topic is profiling young Islamic men. In other words, it’s complicated.

    http://www.wsj.com/articles/the-black-body-count-rises-as-chicago-police-step-back-1473631079

    Like

  12. 1. I don’t care that they banned a lot of altright. Their white supremacist comments violate the terms of service. Twitter wants everyone’s money, not just white people and right wing nuts.

    2. Yes, plenty of black people don’t vote or don’t vote for the democrats. It would be nice if Trump didn’t act as if we all live in some crime ridden inner city and had “nothing to lose”.

    3. I am concerned about stop and frisk because I am an American, not because I have black male relatives. There is nothing American about a police state and it is a shame that people are willing to put up with one because it mostly impacts young black men. It sets a bad precedence that will eventually impact everyone. Funny that the right gets that when it comes to gun laws but can’t see past the black (or Muslim) when it comes to unreasonable searches.

    Like

Leave a Reply

